Abiquo 2.6


Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Prerequisites

This document assumes the reader is familiar with Abiquo Apps Library, Virtual Machine Templates and Instances. See Virtual Machine Templates and Saving Changes to Virtual Machines.

Introduction to Delete VM Templates

In Abiquo 2.6 customers can now remove an unwanted template from the Apps Library. In previous versions, you could not delete a template that was "in use". Now Abiquo allows you to delete the disk and make the template unavailable to users. Unavailable templates are marked in the Apps Library and cannot be used for new deploys. After the template does not have any linked instances or deployed virtual machines it can be deleted.

When users try to undeploy a virtual machine with an unavailable template, Abiquo will warn them to create an instance to save the virtual machine template and data. 

You can create a new template with an updated disk and make this template available to users. Or you can replace a deleted disk with a new disk and the template will become available again.

Deleting templates will improve scalability as our customers' businesses grow. This feature will make it easier for cloud tenants to keep their template collections within their repository limits. After a template becomes outdated, cloud users can transition to an upgraded version of the template when they create new virtual machines. 

Apps library checks

This feature includes new checks of the NFS Repository that holds the Apps Library. Abiquo detects when a template disk has been deleted from the Apps Library. Abiquo will mark a template without a disk as UNAVAILABLE. There are two types of checks: user refresh and automatic check. You can control the interval between automatic checks using the abiquo.appliancemanager.check.repository property. See Abiquo Configuration Properties

Delete Virtual Machine Templates

You can delete any template (master or instance template) that is not in use. A template is not in use when it is not used in a virtual machine and it does not have any dependent instances.

Dependent instances are instances that have not been promoted to master templates. When you promote an instance to a master template, a copy of the original instance is made, so you can delete the original instance when the promotion is complete.

To remove a template that is not in use, move the mouse over the template and click the delete button  that appears. Abiquo will  remove the template from the appliance library and the NFS repository file system.

 

 

Prevent Users from Creating New VMs from a Template

To prevent users from creating new virtual machines from a master template, you can make the template unavailable. This means the template disk file is removed from the NFS Repository.

You can only make a template unavailable using the Abiquo GUI if it is in use, i.e. it is used in a virtual machine or it has dependent instances.

To make a template unavailable, move the mouse over the template that is in use and click the delete button that appears.

Abiquo will delete the disk file but not the template definition. Abiquo will mark this template as unavailable. The template will disappear from the Apps Library view.

Select the checkbox to display Deleted Templates, which are unavailable templates with no disk files. The template will display again and it will be marked with an X.


Delete Template Example

Here is a simple example of the process of deleting a template. An enterprise downloads a virtual machine template from remote repository. A virtual machine is deployed from the template. Modifications are made to the virtual machine. An instance is created from the deployed virtual machine. A new virtual machine is deployed from the instance. An instance is created from the new virtual machine.

Screenshot: Deploy an instance of the Core in a new virtual machine 

Screenshot: There are now two virtual machines - one with the core template and one with an instance of the core template VM

Screenshot: The core template has two instances: Core_Instance_1 and Core_Instance_1_Instance_1

Make a Template Unavailable

If virtual machines or instances are using a template, you cannot delete it. However, you can make the template unavailable, which means that the template disk file is deleted and it cannot be used to create new virtual machines or instances. The process is the same as for deleting a template–Abiquo will warn you if the template is in use.

  • Move the mouse over the template and click the  template delete button that appears. 

  • On the initial warning popup, click Yes to continue
  • Review the details of deployed virtual machines and instances on the "Virtual Machine Template in use" popup

  • Click Yes if you wish to force the delete of the template
  • Screenshot: Instances of deleted template are now visible in the main view. However, they are still instances; they are not promoted to master template status

  • To view the deleted template, click the Deleted Templates checkbox in the Also display options at the top of the screen
    Screenshot: Deleted Templates checkbox and Deleted template displayed.

  • Click on the deleted template to view the instances and they will display in the Instances panel below the master templates
    Screenshot: Deleted template and Instances 

Shared templates

Only the owner of a shared template can delete the shared template disk. This template will only be marked as unavailable for all users when the template owner performs a refresh of the Apps Library. The Cloud Admin user can see all templates and virtual machines linked to a shared template for all enterprises.

Replace a Template Disk File that was Deleted

If a template file is deleted from the NFS repository, the template will become unavailable. However, you can download the template again from the remote repository to restore it.

  • If the template disk file was accidentally deleted, download the template again and refresh the Apps Library and the template will be restored

  • The template will be available again. All virtual machines that were using this template disk will be able to use the template again from now on.

Note that it is also possible to download a new version of the template disk to replace the other version. User machines that are redeployed will automatically use the new version of the template.

Force Delete of an Unavailable Template

You cannot delete a template that is unavailable if it has:

  • instances
  • deployed virtual machines

If you try to delete this template, you will see a message that the template is already unavailable. You can delete the template after you remove the instances and deployed virtual machines.

Use Instances of Deleted Templates in Virtual Machines

Instances of deleted templates are displayed in the main section of the Template Library tab of the Virtual Appliance. You can:

  • use them in the same way as other instances
  • promote them to master templates

 

Make an Instance Template Unavailable

You can make Instances unavailable in the same way as master templates. If an instance does not have a disk, then Abiquo will make it unavailable.

Users cannot create or deploy virtual machines with an instance if it is unavailable. 

Only instances that are in use in virtual machines (deployed or undeployed) can be made unavailable. Instances that are not in use can be deleted directly.

To make an instance unavailable, move the mouse over an instance that is in use and click the delete button  that appears. 

 

A popup will open asking you to confirm the delete. Click Yes. A popup will open listing the virtual machines that are using the instance and any instances that are dependent on this instance. 

Click Yes to force the delete of the instance.

An instance template cannot be restored by reloading it from the original template in a remote repository or on a local file system. However, the template file could be replaced on the file system, in which case the instance would become available again.

The deleted instance will disappear from the Apps Library view.

Display Deleted Instances

Select the checkbox to display Deleted Masters to view deleted instances. 


Force Delete of an Unavailable Instance

You cannot force the delete of an instance if it is in use in a virtual machine. If you try to delete an unavailable instance, an error popup will appear because the template is already unavailable.