Abiquo Documentation Cookies Policy

Our Documentation website uses cookies to improve your experience. Please visit our Cookie Policy page for more information about cookies and how we use them.


Abiquo 2.6


Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Abiquo has a system of users with scopes, roles and privileges. When you create a user, you must assign a role to this new user. By default, there are three basic roles: Cloud Admin, Enterprise Admin and Enterprise User. You can also assign an administration scope. The default administration scope allows access to all infrastructure resources.

If the system is configured to allow users to edit their personal details, click your username in the top right corner of all views to edit your details, including your password. This option can be set in Configuration View.

User Management Functions

API Documentation

For the Abiquo API documentation of this feature, see Abiquo API Resources and the page for this resource UserResource.

If you have the Manage users privilege, you can manage the users that will be allowed to access the platform, using the bottom control buttons in the left pane. The ENTERPRISE_ADMIN default role has permission to manage users of their enterprise only.

If you have the Manage users of all enterprises privilege, you will see the Enterprise list in Users view and you can manage users of more than one enterprise and move users between enterprises. The CLOUD_ADMIN default role has the Manage users of all enterprises privilege.

The operations for managing users are:

Button Action
Create a new user
Remove an existing user
Edit the selected user

Creating or Editing a User

Before you create a user, you should create a role with the appropriate privileges. If your user is a cloud administrator or similar, you should also create a scope with appropriate access to resources for the user.

To create or edit a user, select the Enterprise where the user will be created. The default is your own enterprise. Then click the or the button and complete the form:

 

Restrict Access to Virtual Datacenters for Users

 

By default, all users have access to all virtual datacenters. However, when you create or edit a user who is not an administrator, you can restrict access to certain virtual datacenters. Click the Restrict access button to open the list of available virtual datacenters. Select the VDCs where this user can deploy virtual machines. If no VDCs are selected, the user will have access to all VDCs. You can only restrict the VDC access of users without the No VDC restriction privilege.

Showing Users Who Are Logged In

To see the users who are currently logged in, activate the checkbox in the top right part of the screen. When this checkbox is activated, you cannot perform other actions on users.

Activate or Suspend Multiple Users

To quickly activate or suspend one or more users, select the users from the user list, then select Activate user or Suspend user from the More actions pull-down menu at the top left of the list. The cloud administrator is always activated.

Deleting a User

You must have the Manage users privilege to delete a user. Select the user and click the delete button to delete the user.

The default Cloud Administrator (username: admin) cannot be deleted, except by another user with the same locked role (CLOUD_ADMIN). There must always be at least one user with this role.

  • No labels