Abiquo Documentation Cookies Policy

Our Documentation website uses cookies to improve your experience. Please visit our Cookie Policy page for more information about cookies and how we use them.


Abiquo 2.6


Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Identify Masters and Instances

Template icons that are marked with an "M" icon  are master templates. This means that instances have been created from these templates. An instance is a copy of a virtual machine disk that is linked to the original master template definition. An instance is dependent on the master template until it is promoted to a master template. Instances are marked with an S symbol  to show they are secondary templates linked to a master template.

Click on a master template to manage the instances associated with it.

You will only be able to see the instances that belong to your enterprise. If you have the "Administer all enterprises" permission, you can change to another enterprise with the "Impersonate" function to see instances belonging to that enterprise. 

In the following screenshot, the user clicked on the "Core" VM Template.  

Click on a different template to close the instances view. 

Any modifications that you make to the instance template (e.g. changing the icon) will not affect the master template. A master template cannot be deleted if it has virtual machines deployed or instances with virtual machines deployed. However, it can be made unavailable by deleting the template disk file. If a master template is unavailable, its instances will display in the main Apps Library view. However, if the checkbox to display Deleted Masters is selected, the deleted master template will display in the Apps Library view and the instance will display in the Instances view.

Promote an Instance to a Master Template 

An instance can be promoted to be an independent master template. This will enable you to save changes to the virtual machine template definition.

When you promote an instance, Abiquo makes a copy of the instance to promote. This means that after the instance is promoted, you may be able to delete the original instance. 

Abiquo will check that when you promote an instance you will not exceed the repository limit for your enterprise or your enterprise in the datacenter.

 

  1. Click on the original master template to display the instances below it 
  2. Move the mouse over the instance to display the promote instance  button. Click the promote instance button 
  3. Enter a name for the new master template. Note that the name does not need to be unique because the template is uniquely identified in the system
  4. Check progress by marking the checkbox to display VM Templates in progress. You will see the spinning arrows while work is in progress.


  5. Edit the completed  template to verify it and record your description of the template. Note that the new master template's File name path contains "promoted".

View Instances of Deleted Templates

If the master template disk file has been deleted and the master template is unavailable, then its instances are shown in the main Apps Library view. In the following screenshot, the second template called "Core_Instance_1" is an instance with the master template deleted.

If the checkbox to display deleted templates is selected, the dependent instances are shown in the instances view.

Use Instances of Deleted Templates in Virtual Machines

Instances of deleted templates are displayed in the main section of the Template Library tab of the Virtual Appliance. You can:

  • use them in the same way as other instances
  • promote them to master templates

 

Make an Instance Template Unavailable

You can make Instances unavailable in the same way as master templates. If an instance does not have a disk, then Abiquo will make it unavailable.

Users cannot create or deploy virtual machines with an instance if it is unavailable. 

Only instances that are in use in virtual machines (deployed or undeployed) can be made unavailable. Instances that are not in use can be deleted directly.

To make an instance unavailable, move the mouse over an instance that is in use and click the delete button  that appears. 

 

A popup will open asking you to confirm the delete. Click Yes. A popup will open listing the virtual machines that are using the instance and any instances that are dependent on this instance. 

Click Yes to force the delete of the instance.

An instance template cannot be restored by reloading it from the original template in a remote repository or on a local file system. However, the template file could be replaced on the file system, in which case the instance would become available again.

The deleted instance will disappear from the Apps Library view.

Display Deleted Instances

Select the checkbox to display Deleted Masters to view deleted instances. 


Force Delete of an Unavailable Instance

You cannot force the delete of an instance if it is in use in a virtual machine. If you try to delete an unavailable instance, an error popup will appear because the template is already unavailable.