Documentation

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Introduction to Protect VM

Abiquo 3.2 enables administrators to protect VMs, using both the UI and API, which will block users from working with these VMs in Abiquo. The protect VM feature is controlled by a privilege (and by administration scope). By default the privilege to protect VMs is assigned to the cloud admin. However, the feature is designed so that the privilege could also be assigned to the enterprise admin.

Users with the privilege to protect VMs can still manipulate a blocked VM, which enables administrators to perform tasks such as ISO installs and automation without interruption. You will see the user that protected the VM and the reason. For other users, the VM will only be shown as locked and the default UI label says that it is in the “Maintenance” state.

When you protect or unprotect a VM, an event is generated to enable integration through the Outbound API.

Protect a virtual machine

If you have the privilege to protect virtual machines, you can block actions on the VM by other users without this privilege.

To protect a virtual machine, select it in the virtual appliance view and click the Protect VM button near the Deploy VM button.

Enter the reason for protecting the VM.

If the virtual machine is protected, Abiquo will display a small padlock symbol in the top left corner of the VM icon and change the VM status to MAINTENANCE. This status can be customized in the Abiquo UI labels.

To view the name of the user who blocked the VM and the reason, select the VM and look at the bottom of the VM control panel.

To release the blocked VM, click the Unprotect button near the deploy button.

While a VM is protected users without the privilege to Protect virtual machines will not be able to work with the VM or see any VM details.