An Abiquo instance is a template that uses a copy of a virtual machine disk. For information about how to create instances, see Create Virtual Machine Instances
In a datacenter, an instance is linked to the original master template definition. This means that you cannot delete a master template if it has instances. However, you can promote an instance to a master template.
Masters and instances are identified by symbols on the template icon.
|Master template with instance templates|
|Secondary instance template linked to the master template|
Click on a master template to manage the instances associated with it.
You will only be able to see the instances that belong to your enterprise. If you are a cloud administrator with the "Administer all enterprises" privilege, you can change to another enterprise with the "Impersonate" function to see instances belonging to that enterprise.
In the following screenshot, the user clicked on the "m0n0wall" VM Template. The master template is in the top row, marked in blue. The instances are below it, also marked in blue.
Click on a different template to close the instances view.
Any modifications that you make to the instance template (changing the CPU, RAM, icon, and so on) will not affect the master template.
A master template cannot be deleted if it has virtual machines deployed or instances with virtual machines deployed. However, it can be made unavailable by deleting the template disk file. If a master template is unavailable, its instances will display in the main Apps Library view. However, if the checkbox to display Deleted Masters is selected, the deleted master template will display in the Apps Library view and the instance will display in the Instances view.
An instance can be promoted to be an independent master template. This will enable you to save changes to the virtual machine template definition.
When you promote an instance, Abiquo makes a copy of the instance and promotes it. This means that after the instance is promoted, you may be able to delete the original instance.
Abiquo will check that when you promote an instance you will not exceed the repository limit for your enterprise or your enterprise in the datacenter.
This feature is available in the API. See VirtualMachineTemplateResource#Request the creation of a new virtual machine template into the datacenter repository
In the Promote to master template dialog, enter a name for the new master instance. Select the disks to promote from the list of disks. Remember that there must always be at least one disk, and the disk at position 0 in the disk sequence should be a boot disk for the template to be deployed to the hypervisor.
Abiquo recommends that you enter a name to distinguish this template from other templates, although the name does not need to be unique because the template is uniquely identified in the system.
This section describes the case where the master template disk file has been deleted and the master template is unavailable but the dependent instances have not been deleted.
If the checkbox to display deleted templates is selected, the dependent instances are shown in the instances view. This is the default view.
From Abiquo 3.4, if the checkbox to display deleted templates is not selected, then instances of unavailable master templates are NOT shown in the main Apps Library view.
From Abiquo 3.4, in the Templates tab of the virtual appliance, instances of deleted templates are not displayed. If you wish to create a virtual machine from an instance of a deleted master template, first promote the instance to a master template.
You can make Instances unavailable in the same way as master templates. If an instance template does not have a disk, then Abiquo will make it unavailable.
Users cannot create or deploy virtual machines with an instance if it is unavailable.
Only instances that are in use in virtual machines (deployed or undeployed) can be made unavailable. Instances that are not in use can be deleted directly.
To make an instance unavailable, move the mouse over an instance that is in use, click the menu button and select Delete from the menu.
A popup will open asking you to confirm the delete. Click Yes. A popup will open listing the virtual machines that are using the instance and any instances that are dependent on this instance.
Click Yes to force the delete of the instance.
An instance template cannot be restored by reloading it from the original template in a remote repository or on a local file system. However, the template file could be replaced on the file system, in which case the instance would become available again.
The deleted instance might disappear from the Apps Library view.
If Abiquo is not displaying unavailable instances, you can turn on the display. To view deleted instances, click the filter button and select the checkbox to display Deleted VM templates.
You cannot force the delete of an instance if it is in use in a virtual machine. If you try to delete an unavailable instance, an error popup will appear because the template is already unavailable.
Failed instances may occur if there is a connection error between Abiquo and the virtual machine disks. Failed instances are marked with the failed template icon. Click on the menu button and select Delete to remove the failed instance template from Abiquo.
In a public cloud region, an instance is independent of the original master template. Name your templates carefully so that you can identify the relationships between templates.
In a public cloud region, all changes you make in Abiquo to templates, including instances, are stored in the Abiquo Apps Library only. You can rename the Abiquo instance in Abiquo but remember that this name will not be stored in Amazon. Abiquo will identify the EBS image by its AMI identifier.
If your instance is deleted from the Apps Library AMI cache, you can retrieve it from Amazon and store it in Abiquo again. If it is still in the Apps Library AMI cache, it will not be shown in the remote search.
To delete an Abiquo Instance of an Amazon virtual machine, move the mouse over the template and click the delete button that appears. Confirm the delete.