Abiquo Documentation Cookies Policy

Our Documentation website uses cookies to improve your experience. Please visit our Cookie Policy page for more information about cookies and how we use them.


Abiquo 5.0

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Create a user

To create a user:
  1. If you manage users in multiple enterprises, optionally select an Enterprise where the platform will create the user. Otherwise, it will create the user in the enterprise that you are logged into
  2. Click the + Add button and complete the dialog

Enter general user details

Field

Description

Enterprise

The enterprise that the user will belong to.

Full Name

The user's first name and family name

Role

The Role of the user defining their set of privileges on the platform

ScopeThe Scope of a user defining the set of enterprise and datacenters that they can manage on the platform

Username

The username for login. After you create the user, you cannot change the username

Password

The user account password. Requirements are set by the options of Configuration → Security. See also Manually reset a user password

Repeat password

Re-enter the password

Email

The contact e-mail address of the user for platform messages, including password reset. The platform will display a Gravatar icon associated with this address on the Users's card

Phone numberThe phone number of the user. The platform will not validate this field.

Restrict a user to a set of virtual datacenters

 

By default, all users can access all virtual datacenters. This tab will not display if the user you are creating or editing has the No VDC restriction privilege.

Select one or more checkboxes to create a list of virtual datacenters to allow the user access.

If none are selected, the user can access all VDCs.

Enter advanced user details

Field

Description

Description

Optional description of the user account, maximum 100 characters

Public keySSH key for secure access to VMs. Add this key before you create your VMs
Allowed CIDRsTo restrict user access, enter the allowed network addresses in CIDR format. This network address will have priority inherited allowed CIDRs. Requires the Manage user allowed CIDRs privilege. By default users can access the platform from any IP address.
Inherited allowed CIDRsIf the user does not have allowed CIDRs, and the user's role and/or scope have CIDRs, then the platform will display the allowed CIDRs that apply to the user, which are inherited from the role and/or scope.
Reset password on next login

If this checkbox is selected, the user must reset their password the next time they log in.

Activated

If this checkbox is selected, the user account is active and the user can log in.



Suspend or enable a user account

If you need to stop a user from working with or logging in to the platform on a temporary basis, you can suspend the user account. 

To suspend a user account:

  1. Go to Users → Select user
  2. Click the edit button. The user dialog will open
  3. Go to Advanced, and unselect the Activated checkbox

The platform will suspend the account. When a user account is suspended, the platform will log the user out immediately. Be careful not to disable your own account! Fortunately, the main cloud administrator account cannot be disabled.

To enable the user account again, select the Activated checkbox.

If the user makes too many failed login attempts, the platform will automatically suspend their account for the account lock duration or until it is enabled by an administrator.




Manually reset a user password

If a user cannot automatically reset their password or if the user account is locked for too many password attempts, you can manually reset the password and unlock the account. 

To manually reset a user password:

  1. Open the Users view and select the user
  2. Click the Edit button at the top-right of the Users page. The user form will open.
  3. Enter the new password
  4. Recommended: go to Advanced and select the checkbox to Reset password on next login
  5. If the user account is locked and you wish to unlock it, go to Advanced, and select the Activated option
  6. Click Save. If the user is currently logged in, they will be automatically logged out when you save a new password,

The user password will be reset. Notify the user of their new password.



Manage users with the API

API Documentation

For the Abiquo API documentation of this feature, see Abiquo API Resources and the page for this resource UsersResource.



Display and filter users

To display the users in card view, select the card view tab from the view selectors in the top right-hand corner.

 Click here to show/hide the screenshot

Users in card view

To display groups of users, click on the pages to display the following:

  • All users on the All page
  • Active users on the Activated page
  • Suspended users on the Suspended page

User status

The user status is displayed either by a colored dot in the Activated column or in the colored tag on the user card:

  • Green for active accounts
  • Red for suspended accounts
    • Red with padlock symbol for accounts suspended automatically after too many failed login attempts 

Filter users

To filter users and display only those with a certain text in the user details:

  1. In the filter box on the right-hand side, enter a text string to search for which can include wildcards. For more details, see Search for VMs and filter the search




Delete a user

To delete a user:
  1. Select the user account and click the Delete button
  2. Confirm the delete

Abiquo will delete the user account but the user's VMs and other resources will remain on the cloud platform and users in the same enterprise with the appropriate permissions can work with them.




  • No labels