Documentation

Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.

Toggletabs

...

This page gives a brief introduction to how to manage virtual machines in Abiquo. However, you should also read the other sections on virtual machine and virtual appliance configuration.

...

Create

...

a Virtual Machine

Virtual machines in Abiquo are created inside virtual appliances, which are created inside virtual datacenters.

In the virtual datacenter, on the Virtual Appliances tab, move the mouse over the virtual appliance and click on the Enter link that appears beside it.  

...

Image Added

When you open a virtual appliance, the virtual appliance screen has two parts: virtual machine templates and virtual machines.

You will use virtual machine templates from the Template library pane to create virtual machines.

Note

If you can't see any virtual machine templates, please contact your administrator who will Add VM Templates to the Apps Library.

Image Removed

Image Added

The virtual machines pane is where you will create your virtual machines.

...

Image Added

It is very easy to create virtual machines in Abiquo.

Just drag and drop templates into the virtual machine pane.

...

Image Added

Select Hardware Profile in Public Cloud Region

If you are working in a public cloud region, select a hardware profile for your virtual machine.

...

Image Added

In Amazon, the free hardware profile is t1.micro.

Abiquo will display the CPU and RAM for this profile.

Recommended hardware profiles

Image Removed

Abiquo now enables your administrators to recommend hardware profiles for public cloud templates. The recommended hardware profiles are marked with (recommended).

See also Control hardware profiles in public cloud

Add Instances of Virtual Machines in Datacenter

If there are instances of the virtual machine template you are adding to your virtual appliance, the following pop-up is shown so you can select an instance or the master template. Note that by default the master template is selected. Unselect the master template if you only want to add an instance.

...

Image Added

After you save the virtual appliance, the new virtual machines will be in the NOT_ALLOCATED state until the virtual appliance is deployed. If the virtual appliance is not deployed,  Configure Virtual Machines  before you deploy the virtual appliance.

...


Image Added

 

...


...

Deploy

...

a Virtual Machine

Click the Deploy virtual appliance button on the right-hand side of the screen.

...

Image Added

 

After the virtual appliance is deployed, the deploy button changes to the red undeploy button.  The virtual machines will be ON and the status bar beneath the VM icons will be green.

If you click on a virtual machine, a control panel will appear below the virtual machines panel.  You can check the details of the virtual machine and power it on or off, and pause or reset the machine as allowed by the hypervisor.

...

Image Added

 

By default, the description panel provides a short description of the VM template. The following screenshot shows the machine in a paused state with a yellow status bar and the Description tab of the control panel.

...

Image Added

The following screenshots show the Network and Storage tabs, which are an easy way to check what IP addresses and volumes are assigned to your machine.

...

Image Added

...

Image Added

 

If you move the mouse over a virtual machine, you will see the edit button and the delete button. Power off the virtual machine before you reconfigure it.

...

Image Added

Manage deploy errors

If your virtual machine did not deploy properly, for example, because you did not have enough resources in your Enterprise, then you may see an

...

(warning) error symbol on the virtual machine icon.

...

Image Added

To view recent events, move the mouse over the virtual machine and then click the error symbol. 

To see the full text of a field, move the mouse over it.

...

Image Added

To view an event trace, select the event in the list. The trace will display below the list.

...

Image Added

To remove the warning symbol, after checking the Event messages, click Yes.

...

If you have the privilege to Manage Users, you can delete warnings for the users of the enterprises that you manage.

 

...

Protect

...

a virtual machine

If you have the privilege to protect virtual machines, you can block actions on the VM by other users without this privilege.

...

To protect a virtual machine, select it in the virtual appliance view and click the Protect VM button near the Deploy VM button.

...

Image Added

Enter the reason for protecting the VM.

If the virtual machine is protected, Abiquo will display a small padlock symbol in the top left corner of the VM icon and change the VM status to MAINTENANCE. This status can be customized in the Abiquo UI labels.

To view the name of the user who blocked the VM and the reason, select the VM and look at the bottom of the VM control panel.

...

Image Added

To release the blocked VM, click the Unprotect button near the deploy button.

While a VM is protected users without the privilege to Protect virtual machines will not be able to work with the VM or see any VM details.

...

Image Added

 

...

titleReconfigure

Basic Reconfigure of a Virtual Machine

To change the configuration of a virtual machine, including the storage and network configuration, first power off the virtual machine. Click on the machine and then click the Power button on the control panel at the bottom of the screen.

...

Image Added

Then move the mouse over the virtual machine and click the virtual machine configuration button.

...

Image Added

Make your changes following the instructions in the section on how to Configure Virtual Machines.

If the virtual machine is deployed, the changes will be applied in the hypervisor directly. If you add new machines, the Sync virtual appliance button replaces the deploy button on the right-hand side of the screen. Click the Sync virtual appliance button to deploy newly added virtual machines.

...


...

Delete

...

a Virtual Machine

To delete a virtual machine, move the mouse over the virtual machine and click the virtual machine delete button.

...

Image Added

The following screenshots are based on a virtual appliance with two virtual machines, which has already been deployed. One of the virtual machines is running and one is powered off. 

First delete the powered-off machine.

 

...

Image Added

After you confirm the delete, the icon for the deleted virtual machine is removed from the virtual appliance. 

If the virtual appliance is deployed and the virtual machine is running, you do not need to undeploy - the deployed virtual machine can also be deleted directly.

...

Image Added